The Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

At CTN I met this Italian Artist called Nicola Sammarco.

He was friends with James Lopez and I was introduced as we where waiting to get a table for our Hullabaloo team dinner. So here I am already in great company and then this kid, Nicola is in his early twenties, is showing his portfolio to James and I am peaking, as you do… and bam, wow what incredible talent.

Of course it makes me even powder cause he is Italian like me, but I am really taken by his beautiful sketches and the way he used  a well known story to build his art around. The “Around the World in 80 Days” concept art is just awesome and beautiful. So I start talking to this kid and he is really nice too and we are having fun speaking Italian and I jokingly said well I would love for you to do some concept art for me on a project I’m trying to put together and he just said, of course I’d love to help… WOW how did I get so lucky.

Anyway, the real blog is about this artists art and Nicola has quite the hand. He obviously studied the animation greats like Glen Keane and the Disney way, you can see that in his sketches, but there is so much more. A real sensibility for style and beauty and storytelling in one quick doodle…
It sure has me wanting to see more and I would love to have a booklet or something in my collection. I know he would like to make his way to the States to work for the big boys and I am sure he will do so soon. Anyone who sees his work can see that he has talent. So here it is and you can judge by yourself, but I hope I will work with him on a project someday, as I really love his style.

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

Art of Nicola Sammarco

This entry was posted in Animation, Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

