Happy Birthday Walt

Walt Disney by Nicola Sammarco

Walt Disney by Nicola Sammarco

Today  December 5th 2014 would have been Walt Disney’s 113th birthday.

For the occasion I am raiding my very talented friend Nicola Sammarco’s sketches of Walt, cause they depict him the way I imagine he was.

In a way I almost see him standing by the party tree, fingering a pencil and saying:      ” …it’s my eleventy-third birthday today, too short a time to live among such excellent and admirable artists. I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”  just as Bilbo did in Tolkiens story… smiling at the legacy he left behind and at all that’s still to come.

I hope Walt would look at us and be proud that we are carrying the animation torch high and bright all around the globe for he once said: “Do what you do so well, that they will want to see it again and bring their friends” as another one of my good friends, Rick Farmiloe, reminded us today.

So happy birthday Walt and never fear, cause there will always be some of us to continue the tradition…

Walt Disney sketch by Nicola Sammarco

Walt Disney sketch by Nicola Sammarco

Walt Disney sketch by Nicola Sammarco

Walt Disney sketch by Nicola Sammarco

This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

