Flora and the Penguin

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

The magnificent Mrs Molly Idle has done it again…

Her new book is inspiring and tender and speaks about friendship and how to keep it, even when things don’t always go the way you want them too.

Beautifully illustrated goes without saying, this woman is going to give me an enormous inferiority complex with good reason. Yet again as in Flora and the Flamingo, the book has flaps to move and tell the story and NO words, so everyone can tell their own, and change it as many times as imagination can carry. Pure genius if you ask me.

This incredible talented artist still does it all by hand, paper and pencil and lots of Prisma colors. Her line is as smooth as the ice Flora is skating on and the choreography funny and enchanting.

What will be next? Well Flora is going to meet some Peacocks I am told and I can’t wait to see the result. I guess I better make more space on my bookshelf then…

Yesterday Molly, who lives in Arizona with her family, came to LA and had a “reading” or should I say showing, of her new book. Obviously I had to attend and so did a couple of our old friends and colleagues from the DreamWorks days, where Molly and I worked together a million years ago, or so it seems. We all went out for drinks afterwards to catch up and congratulate her on her achievements.

But I digress… let her drawings speak for her.

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle sketch

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle sketch

Molly Idle at the book signing event

Molly Idle at the book signing event

Ronan, Molly, Kent and I- the old DreamWorks crew together again

Ronan, Molly, Kent and I- the old DreamWorks crew together again

Molly and me

Molly and me

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle sketch

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle sketch

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Animation, Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

