“Art that inspires me:”4-Yoshitaka Amano

Vampire Hunter D by Yoshitaka Amano

Vampire Hunter D by Yoshitaka Amano

Yoshitaka Amano is another incredible talented master of illustration I came across during my very early days, when I was watching a myriad of Anime while growing up in Italy.

Yoshitaka was the designer of some of my most beloved anime series like Tekkaman, Casshan and Gatchaman. I grew up with a lot of anime and some of the designs really resonated with me.

Some of Amano’s artwork reminds me of Gustav Klimt, but he just made it his own.I really came to know his personal style with Vampire Hunter D and the Sandman illustrations and I admire the amount of detail he puts into each piece. The drawings are so beautiful and evocative, even the darkest ones are still mesmerizing.

I wish I could see one of his paintings in real life to see what they look like up close. I would love to study them and maybe steal a few ideas. But for now my books will have to do.

Sandman by Yoshitaka Amano

Sandman by Yoshitaka Amano

Nr 28 From Maten by Yoshitaka Amano

Nr 28 From Maten by Yoshitaka Amano

Casshan by Yoshitaka Amano

Casshan by Yoshitaka Amano

Yoshitaka Amano

Yoshitaka Amano

 

This entry was posted in Animation, Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

