“Art that inspires me”: 1- Frank Frazetta

Frank-Frazetta-DD1

Death Dealer by FF

Frank Frazetta is probably my number one inspiration when it comes to drawing and painting.

His paintings are the best I have ever seen and the way he portrays women really is what inspires me most. His women are not the skeletal fashion models of today or over muscled body builders of the 80s, they are real curvy, sexy, gorges ladies and you can not take your eyes of them for one minute. Frazetta women are goddesses and heroines with real bodies and even quite bodacious. I just love the way they look and I love how most times they are the center of his pieces.

Frank Frazetta was a master in ink and oil, his shadow and light play is powerful and the images let you dream about the worlds they show. He was one of the most sought after illustrators in the 50s and 60s. He defined an era of comic book and illustration art and still today his work inspires and his style is visible in many other artists around the globe.

I was lucky enough to be able to poses one of his sketches, I found it at the San Diego ComicCon in 2000 and it is my greatest treasure.

 Frank Frazetta sketch I own

Frank Frazetta sketch I own

Ink drawing by FF, looks like the final of the sketch I own

Ink drawing by FF, looks like the final of the sketch I own

This is my favored Frazetta painting

This is my favored Frazetta painting

since I could not own Frazettas painting, I painted my own version of his Egyptian Queen

since I could not own Frazettas painting, I painted my own version of his Egyptian Queen

Fighting Man of Mars by FF

Fighting Man of Mars by FF

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

