And the Oscar goes to…

And the Oscar goes to...

Yes I am holding a real Academy Award.It was the year 2001 and I was so incredibly lucky to have the chance to hold the Oscar that DreamWorks just won for the movie Shrek, the first of the bunch.

I was working there at the time on Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron and we all had an amazing surprise at lunch when walking into the cafeteria and there the Oscar stood for all to see and touch and hold. I felt like being at the top of the world, how many people in the world can say they held a real Academy Award Statue, to feel the weight of it and to immortalize the moment in a photograph? Well this little girl from Merano, Italy had no idea she would ever be that lucky and jet here we where; Oscar and I…

So that got me thinking, since we just saw the 2014 Academy Awards last night.

Frozen won best animated picture and I wish I had seen all the contenders to really know if it was the best of them all. I saw “When the Wind Rises” by Miyazaky and even though it was a good movie I did not think it was his best.

When I saw Frozen I did not like it. I hated the music starting right at the beginning ( well its no “Circle of Life”, that still gives me the shivers after all these years) and all the slapstick comedy that tries to hold together a story that really is not there. There was no epic villain to challenge the heroine, no all time lows to make the happy ending. The “Let it be” signature song came way to early in the movie, why we had only barely seen Elsa and she was shut away with no apparent reason and Anna had no real ties to her sister to warrant her selfless journey to find and “save” her from what? I did not get the hype and love this movie is getting form the rest of the world.

So now what? I thought about it and finally I realized that the best thing about this movie is that there was no prince to save the damsel in distress, no epic battle by the hero to help the princess, no villain to vanquish by the leading man to save the girl.

This was a story about two girls, sisters. It was a story of every little girl out there that has a special gift and of her parents being afraid she wont fit in to what society<AKA the Villain> expects from us.  A story of a girl being punished for being special and different and “dangerous”. A story of every woman being told all her life she needs a man to save the day, to need a prince, to give her a life.  And it was a story of a girl that grew up exactly how everyone expects her to be, only to realize that she has the power to be more than just what society wants her to be.

Elsa and Anna are just two sides of the same coin, both where shut away, both told what to do and both finally realized that it was all wrong. Two heroines that told every little girl in the world that special gifts are to be treasured and developed. That their lives can be anything they want it to be, that they do NOT need a prince to complete their lives. Elsa and Anna are the new hero’s for a new generation of women everywhere to “let it go” and be all they can be.

I am glad that Frozen won the Oscar and I am glad it will be seen even more now all over the world and I am glad that we have a song to sing.

…”It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me
I’m free”…”Let it go, let it go
And I’ll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go
That perfect girl is gone”…

Elsa

Elsa finally free

 young Elsa & Anna

young Elsa & Anna

Elsa & Anna reunited

Elsa & Anna reunited

Image | This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

